top of page

English reading practice - Life Begins at 40 (C1/C2 Advanced learners)

Today's post is a little different than normal as it's my birthday. So on this day 11th July 1983 I was born. I wanted to reflect so here it is....


Life is a magnificent voyage, filled with twists and turns, triumphs and challenges, and countless opportunities for growth and self-discovery. As I reach one of the big milestones in life and turn 40, it has encouraged me to take a moment to pause, reflect, and embrace the wisdom gained from the experiences of the past. It is a time to celebrate the journey thus far and to look forward with renewed optimism, embracing the transformative power of this new chapter.


I think at 40, we begin to truly understand the importance of self-acceptance. We learn to embrace our unique qualities, quirks, and imperfections. We recognise that true beauty radiates from within and that confidence stems from accepting and loving ourselves unconditionally. It is a time to release self-doubt and embrace the power of self-belief. I have been working on this for the past few years after a big change in my life and I would say I'm better at accepting myself but we all need to keep working at it for better mental health and wellbeing.


Turning 40 invites us to acknowledge and celebrate our accomplishments. It is a time to reflect on the goals we have achieved, the hurdles we have overcome, and the moments of triumph that have shaped us. We should recognise that our journey has been filled with achievements, both big and small and that each one has contributed to the remarkable people we have become. Too often we focus on what we would change but let's remember what we have done with our lives. I have loved, lost, loved again and travelled and it has all helped shape the person I have become.



I think life at 40 brings with it a sense of liberation—a newfound freedom to explore and embrace change. We understand that growth occurs outside our comfort zone and that stepping into the unknown can lead to incredible opportunities for personal and professional development. We open our hearts and minds to new experiences, unafraid to take risks and embark on exciting adventures. This year has been a big step outside my comfort zone. I changed my work and moved to a new country with all the challenges this entailed.


As we enter this new phase of life, we appreciate the value of authentic connections. We prioritise nurturing relationships with family, friends, and loved ones. We recognise that true companionship is built on trust, empathy, and shared experiences. We cherish the connections that have stood the test of time and cultivate new ones with kindred spirits who add richness and depth to our lives.


At 40, we understand the significance of self-care in maintaining a healthy mind, body, and spirit. We recognise that taking time for ourselves is not selfish, but rather an essential act of self-nourishment. We prioritise self-care practices that replenish our energy, restore our balance, and allow us to show up as our best selves for others. Just taking some time to sit on the beach and watch the waves is one of the ways I practice self-care. I have taken more time for myself and less time to work simplifying my life and living in the now.


Turning 40 sparks a renewed sense of purpose and a reimagining of our dreams. It is a time to identify new passions, set fresh goals, and chase after aspirations with newfound determination. We believe in the power of reinvention and understand that age does not limit our capacity to achieve greatness. I don't know if it was getting older or just thinking it's now or never let's just head straight for the adventure but I'm glad I did it.


Turning 40 is not just a milestone; it is a celebration of the extraordinary journey that has brought us here. It is just a number but it does bring acceptance with it. It used to be described as 'over the hill' if it is I look forward to the adventures on this side. The best is yet to come.


You can now listen to this article as a podcast just click here


If you find this practice useful please consider supporting the author from just £1 per month here

0 views0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page