top of page

English reading practice - Luna's Tail (B1/B2 intermediate level English)

Yesterday Luna (my cat) came home with some bad cuts and refusing to walk on one of her legs. While running around trying to sort out a hire car and an appointment with the vet I tried to imagine what Luna would say happened if she got the chance to tell me. So today is a little change from the usual and here is Luna's tail.


In a small town with colourful houses and palm trees, there lived a curious cat named Luna. Luna was known for being adventurous and sometimes getting into trouble.

One sunny morning, Luna found herself in a box and taken to see a vet named Dr. Anderson. She was sad because her paw hurt, and she wished she could be outside playing. Her Mama was worried, too.

Inside the vet's office, Luna felt scared. There were bright lights and strange machines. Her fur was messy, and her leg hurt a lot. Luna knew she had to tell the vet what happened.

Dr. Anderson, a kind vet, came in and asked Luna how she got hurt. Luna took a big breath and started to tell her story with lots of excitement. "Oh, Dr. Anderson, you won't believe it! I was in a fierce battle with a group of mischievous monkeys! They swung from tree branches, chattering and throwing bananas at me. There must have been about 20 of them. I leapt, I pounced, and I fought valiantly, but in the end, they pushed me off a cliff!"

Dr. Anderson was surprised by Luna's story and said, "Monkeys and a cliff? That's quite an adventure, Luna."

But Luna didn't stop there. She let her imagination run wild "Yes, indeed! But that wasn't even the most thrilling part. After I tumbled off the cliff I fell through the jungle. I found myself next to a cunning tiger. We locked eyes, and I knew it was a battle of wits. We circled each other, each trying to outsmart the other, until finally, I outwitted the beast and made my escape!"

Dr. Anderson chuckled and said, "You have quite an imagination, Luna. But let's tell the truth. What really happened?"

Luna sighed and admitted, "Well, I was just being curious and trying to catch a butterfly when I slipped and fell."

The vet understood and smiled. "Accidents happen, Luna. Even brave adventurers like you can get hurt sometimes."

Dr. Anderson took good care of Luna's injury. Luna felt better and purred in happiness.
As Luna left the vet with a bandaged leg and a funny collar, she thought about her adventures. She realised that maybe it was better to leave the big stories to her imagination and be safe near the house in the future. But maybe not.

I am sure Luna will be back to her usual fun adventures soon but I really wish she wouldn't make me worry and come home injured like she did yesterday. We will never know what really happened but it was fun to imagine her story.


Check your understanding

  1. Who is Luna, and what is her reputation in the neighbourhood?

  2. What caused Luna's injury that required a visit to Dr. Anderson's office?

  3. How does Luna initially describe the cause of her injury?

  4. How does Dr. Anderson react to Luna's imaginative story, and what does she ultimately discover about what really happened to Luna?

  5. How does Luna feel after receiving treatment from Dr. Anderson, and what decision does she contemplate regarding future adventures?

You can now listen to this article as a podcast just click here


If you find this practice useful please consider supporting the author from just £1 per month here


She really is fine now



0 views0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page