top of page

Learning English: Lets make it fun!

For those of you who don't know, one of my jobs is teaching English as a second language to students of varying abilities from all over the world. I started doing this about six months ago as a job that I can do remotely, on my laptop, from anywhere in the world, as long as the internet connection is good enough. I mainly started doing this so I had a job I could easily take with me and continue from Day 1 when I move to Barbados in the coming weeks/months. If you want to read more about what I do, have a look at my other posts here: www.onepawinthesand.com


When I am teaching I try to make each lesson fun and interactive, especially when I am working with younger learners. I want to make learning English something that they look forward to, not a chore. I believe that if my students are having fun, then they don't even feel like they are learning, they are just playing along with a silly blue-haired English lady on the screen.


I have some sites that are my favourites to use, but sometimes I feel like they are not quite what I am looking for, but there aren't any other options. Some books or games have words that we don't use in British English and most of my learners are looking for this, not US English. So what can I do?


This week I started making some of my own games that I can use in lessons and I have made them available for other people to practice with if they want to. I have started with A1 level vocabulary, provided by Cambridge English, as this is for beginners and is more likely to be for younger learners but I plan to keep going with other levels as I get the time and hopefully older learners will also enjoy them.


A1 level


Opposites


Categories (family, fruit, parts of the body)


Colours

I also have a 30-minute lesson available on colours with Lisa and her friends. Contact me for more information on how to book.



The last thing I did was try an online video of a story that people can read along with. I have two versions of this on YouTube, one with my voice-over, so people can hear how words should be said and a second just with the story, so they can read themselves to test their knowledge and reading skills. It's something a little different for me to construct these, so I am quite proud of myself. More will come I'm sure.


Online read-along stories - Anna's missing blue dress

With voice over



Read yourself practice


I will keep adding more activities, so come back when you can to have another look. If you have a subject that you think I should cover please do let me know in the comments.

0 views0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page